Signs, Signs, Everywhere There’s Signs

I was reading over on Chump Lady about signs the universe was trying to give you that your relationship with the cheater was doomed.  Some people had actual signs and then others were talking about dreams.  I did have some dreams during the marriage, but only one small sign to think of, and I chalked that up to the fact that it’s said everyone has something go wrong on their wedding day.  Although, looking back I could take our whole trip out to our new state as a sign.

The day of our wedding I was running late.  The wedding was supposed to begin at 4:30 and the bridesmaids had been told to be there an hour beforehand.  My maid of honor, my STBX-SIL, Jezebel, and I were at the salon and they were soooooo slow.  He kept telling me, “Honey, you’re the bride.  They’re not going to start without you!”  OK, that is true, but there is the possibility that they may think I just stood him up at the alter.  In hindsight, that would have been the way to go.  Anyway, I’ve told the story many times before.  We had Jezebel go first because she was singing and needed to warm up.  Maid of Honor and I were there until 3:30 or so, maybe almost 4.  Then we sped off to the church, doing upwards of 75 mph in the city trying to get to the church on time.  I ended up being on time but one of my friends who was a groomsman went to the wrong church.  Hey, maybe he was trying to tell me something!  Then he got the right church but as he was getting dressed he discovered he didn’t have his shirt; fortunately (?) it had fallen off the hanger in the parking lot so that was an easy fix. Someone went to retrieve it for him, he finished dressing, and we were finally able to begin the wedding.  I know we did not begin the wedding on time.  Like I said, I chalked it up to being our crazy wedding day story.

Our final trip out here was one hell of a ride.  First, I was driving across the country with two kids, 3 dogs, 2 cats, and a fish.  And a van filled with things the moving company wouldn’t transport, including about 8 12-packs of pop.  Who knew they couldn’t take carbonated beverages?  Not me!  It was a three day trip.  I had to find a hotel that would take pets, for starters.  Then, because one of the kids I was transporting was my niece, and because I could stay at my mom’s house for free instead of paying for a hotel room I ended up taking a slightly longer (by about 3 hours) route to our new house.  Then on our final day as we get ready to leave on the last leg of the trip my engine light came on and the bell that would ding if my doors didn’t close properly was chiming incessantly; this meant that we weren’t going to get on the road until much later and we wouldn’t arrive at our destination until late at night.  I took it into the shop but they didn’t have the part that was needed.  They told me it was going to take at least one day for the part to come in.  I was in full panic mode.  I HAD to get to my new home!  How would my poor, helpless husband ever manage to direct the move by himself?  He would be a sobbing mess. Since they knew I needed to get on the road they repaired it enough for me to get to my destination.  They did not, however, remove the fuse that would stop the incessant dinging; apparently, that is a trick that only ONE dealership in the entire country knows about.  How do I know this?  Because every time I mentioned it the service techs would look at me like I was crazy.  I had it done by service techs at a dealership.  It was THEIR solution to my problem; it’s not like I came up with this on my own! As you might imagine I got to drive for ten hours listening to this:  ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding..

Seriously- ten hours of that!  I couldn’t play the radio loud enough to cover up the sound.  To make the trip even more delightful my phone died about four hours from our destination.  My daughter plugged it into the brand new charger I had bought and announced, “It isn’t charging!”  I was freaking out!  I had no other directions to our new house.  Technology!  It always works, right?  I wasn’t even sure how to get to the hotel where CF was staying, nor did I know what his room number was.  Freaking out doesn’t describe it.  It was more like blind panic.  I was crying and trying to hide it from my daughter, who thought I was going to drive off a mountain.  Remember, I’ve listened to an incessant dinging for about 7 or 8 hours now and I’m traveling with 3 dogs, 2 cats and a fish, in addition to my daughter.  And my engine could start giving me problems at any minute.  We did finally make it, of course, and I was there in time to help supervise the unloading of our furniture and household goods so that CF didn’t have to do it all by himself.  Ah yes, the trip from Hell straight into our lives from Hell.  A fitting foreshadowing.

Then there were the dreams.  One was a recurring dream; it didn’t occur often but I probably had it four to six times. In the dream he was leaving me and I would always say, “It finally happened.  He really left me.”  It never got much further than that.  Just me realizing he had tossed me aside and me wondering what the hell I was going to do now. And it would always be one of those dreams where you tell yourself that you are not dreaming; this is real.  Have you ever had one of those?  For me, I’ll be dreaming and it’s something unpleasant.  Then in the dream I wake up.  But then I go on to have another dream, and this time when I’m dreaming I tell myself, “No, you were dreaming last time but you woke up.  This is real.  It’s actually happening.” I hate those dreams!  I never really gave it much thought, though; I probably thought it happened because I was a stay at home mom.  That, or maybe I always expected him to leave me one day.

Right before I found out he was fucking Harley the second time I had a dream where I knew he was cheating on me and I asked him why he was doing this.  He sneered at me, “Because it’s fun.”  I’m pretty sure I had that dream the weekend he was gone for the funeral (and fucking his whore).

Of course, we have the gut check and how it was screaming at me for a few weeks- first the charge to the Whore Town Walmart, and then him refusing to take to our daughter to the funeral.  Come to think of it, I wouldn’t be surprised to find out that the weekend in May he was going to his mom’s he was actually going to see Harley.  Again, he wouldn’t take either of the kids.  The coup de grace though had to be the changing date of the funeral and how a one night stay turned into 4 nights.  And the motherfucker didn’t even bother leaving until late morning.

Hey, maybe this is his sign that what he’s doing is not such a good thing.  Keep in mind that for years now Cousinfucker has been talking about his anxiety driving to work.  He even commented only months earlier that he could barely make it to work anymore, and his current commute was 10 minutes.  He’s now making a 12 hour round trip. Every weekend (of course, at the time I didn’t know this was going to be an every weekend thing).  Driving during the day.  Driving at night.  He’s amazing!  His recovery is amazing.  Let’s all praise Jesus for the miracle He has worked on this man!  As he’s getting off the exit to our town, after spending 5 days with the whore where he took her to a damn funeral to show off to his family, he ends up rear ending a tractor trailer.  Yep, here’s yer sign!

5 thoughts on “Signs, Signs, Everywhere There’s Signs

  1. I just can’t get over the incessant dinging on the drive. (The incessant dinging by your husband is quite another thing!). I literally would have wanted to punch someone. Seriously the blood pressure increase that must have caused!!

    Like

    1. It was horrible! I think I have PTSD from it. Seriously, I got in the van the next morning to move it and I could barely take the five or ten seconds it took to move it from one location to the next.

      Like

  2. Sleaze ball. I hope HE gets a sign, like a punch to the throat!

    Your dreams… Complete manifestations of your anxiety, stress and everything you picked up on. Here’s to wishing you trouble-less sleep and peaceful dreams forever out!

    (Seriously, a funeral? A funeral as a date?!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

