Freedom- Part 4

Ten more songs for you today!  I hope you’ll find something inspiring.

  1. I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor  The original kickass survivor song. Go on now go.  Walk out the door.  Just turn around now cos you’re not welcome anymore.  Weren’t you the one who tried to break me with good-bye?  Did ya think I’d crumble? Did you think I’d lay down and die?  Oh no not I!  I will survive!  My mom used it as her own anthem when divorcing my dad way back in the late 70s and I’m using it now.
  2. Let It Go by Idina Menzel from the movie Frozen  Some days I need to take that advice and just let it go!  Plus, this song makes me happy.  I don’t care how many times it’s been played and parodied!
  3. Pray For You by Jaron and the Long Road to Love  Another new discovery.  He begins by telling the story of how he went to church for the first time in a long time.  While there the preacher tells him he can’t go hating people, to leave it up to the Lord and just pray for those who have done you wrong.  So, he takes that advice.  Yeah, I’m goin’ take the high road and do what the preacher told me to do.  You keep messin’ up and I’ll keep prayin’ for you.  I pray your tire blows out at 110.  I pray you pass out drunk with your best friend and wake up with his and her tattoos.  I pray your brakes go out runnin’ down a hill.  I pray a flowerpot falls from a window sill and knocks you in the head like I’d like to.  I pray your birthday comes and nobody calls.  I pray you’re flyin’ high when your engine stalls.  I pray all your dreams never come true.  Just know wherever you are, near or far, in your house or in your car, wherever you are honey, I pray for you.  Small disclaimer here:  My mother always told me it’s not nice to pray for bad things to happen.  I’m not completely clear on wishing bad things on others, but I know in her book praying for it is definitely out!
  4. Crazy by Jem  This one is brand new on the list.  It’s a nice little song that is basically telling the cheater, “Get the hell out!”  Don’t like problems, I don’t like stress  Don’t like to argue, like tears even less  Ya think it’s clever to play all these games Well say goodbye ‘cause the rules have just changed.  You think I’m crazy, well hell I may be Boy you’re not welcome here  But if I’m crazy, you made me crazy so Boy you’re not welcome here.  I like that because I know in CF’s world I’m the cause of all his problems and I should just roll over and play dead like a good little cheated upon wife.  Fuck you! …take yourself and get outta my place!  That’s what I wish I could say!
  5. I Look So Good (Without You) by Jessie James  Do I need to say anything else?
  6. Bye Bye by Jo Dee Messina  Talk about a peppy little song to get your foot tapping!  It’s simply a kickass song that says, “I’m outta here!”
  7. Cheater, Cheater by Joey + Rory  Love, love, love this song!  I only discovered it a few months ago but it is one of my favorites.  This is another one I love to sing at the top of my lungs.  Tell me cheater, cheater, where’d you meet that no good, white trash ho?  Now I’m not one to judge someone that I ain’t never met.  But to lay your hands on a married man is ‘bout as low as a gal can get.  Hey I wish her well as she rots in Hell and you can tell her I said so.  Cheater, cheater, where’d you meet that no good white trash ho?  As much as I love the song it makes me sad. Shortly after discovering it I found out that Joey was dying of cancer; sadly she lost her battle recently.  She was so beautiful and had such a beautiful voice.
  8. I Can See Clearly Now by Johnny Nash  It’s amazing what a little distance can do for you and your perceptions.  I can see clearly now.  I can see all obstacles in my way…. It’s gonna be a bright, bright sun shining day. I think I can make it now, the pain is gone… Here is that rainbow that I’ve been praying for.  it’s gonna be a bright, bright sun shining day.  Look all around.  There’s nothing but blue skies.  Look straight ahead.  Nothing but blue skies.  That’s what I’m praying for, Johnny!
  9. Karma by Joss Stone  Another song about karma.  Hands down my favorite line is this:  Karma is your master and you’re the bitch.  Yeah, boy!
  10. Gold Digger by Kanye West and Jamie Foxx   This is one of my guilty pleasures.  I love playing this one when he can hear it.  She is a gold digger.  I know he doesn’t believe it, doesn’t want to believe it, but she is.  And once she’s taken everything she can from him, she’ll drop him.  And then we’re back to the whole, karma is your master and you’re the bitch.
2 thoughts on “Freedom- Part 4

Leave a Reply

