Recipe #4- Crockpot Chicken and Rice

I LOVE my crockpot!  I have more than one.  I have a Ninja which is amazing!  I love being able to brown hamburger or sear roasts right in the crockpot using the stove function and then turning the crockpot function on.  I also have the mini crockpot and the three crockpots in one system.  With that in mind here is a crockpot recipe.  It’s very popular on Pinterest and that’s where I got it.

Crock Pot Chicken & Rice (also called Italian Chicken)

Ingredients:

2-4 skinless boneless chicken breasts

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 envelope Italian dressing (you can use the Zesty version as well)

1 can cream of chicken soup

Directions:

  1. Stir the cream cheese, Italian dressing and cream of chicken soup together and add to the crockpot.
  2. Add the chicken breasts, cover with sauce and cook on low 4-6 hours, or until the chicken is falling apart tender.
  3. Cook rice according to the directions on the package.  Smother with the chicken and sauce.

You can cut the chicken into strips or chunks, or just shred it if you prefer.  I always shred it.  Also, if you are not a fan of rice you can substitute noodles or mashed potatoes.

I had this pinned on my Dinner board for ages before I finally tried it.  It was delicious and I try to make it about once a month.  It’s quick, easy and inexpensive.  You can use fresh or frozen chicken breasts.  It’s also one that both of my kids love!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Recipe #4- Crockpot Chicken and Rice

Leave a Reply

