A Sweet New Recipe

This is really not a new recipe.  It is a very old recipe and one that I love.  My grandmother would make these for me.  I was going to say she made these for me when I was younger but honestly, I asked for them even as I got older.  My favorite dinner from her was beef and noodles over mashed potatoes and a side of green beans with Scotcheroos for dessert.  Now she’s gone and I’m struggling to make a good beef and noodles dish.  I’m getting pretty close.  My green beans are good most of the time.  As for the Scotcheroos I’ve got those in the bag!  I even make them for my nieces on holidays.  I hope you end up loving them as much as I do.

Scotcheroos

Ingredients:

1 cup of sugar

1 cup of white corn syrup

1 cup of peanut butter (smooth, not crunchy)

6 cups Rice Krispies

1 bag of chocolate chips

1 bag of butterscotch chips

Directions:

  1.  Mis sugar and corn syrup together, heat over the stove, and bring to a boil.
  2. Add the peanut butter and once that is smoothed in add the Rice Krispies.  Then spread into a buttered 9×13 pan.
  3. Melt the chocolate chips and butterscotch chips.  My grandmother always did this on the stove but I put them in a microwave safe bowl and nuke them.  Try 1 minute initially, stir, and then set the timer for 30 seconds until they are completely melted.  Once they are melted stir to mix and then pour over the top of the Rice Krispies.
  4. Smooth the chocolate/butterscotch mixture over the top and wait for it to cool. This will take 2-3 hours unless you speed up the process by putting the pan in the refrigerator.

Yum!  Don’t eat the entire pan in one sitting.  Oh what the hell?  They’re easy to make.  Eat up!

3 thoughts on “A Sweet New Recipe

Leave a Reply

