Home Wrecker Special- A Recipe

A little inside joke between me and Wife over on Honey and the Home Wrecker.  Check out her site; she’s fantastic.

I found this, where else?  On Pinterest.  It was called Mexican Dorito Casserole. It really is delicious.  My daughter complains that it is too spicy and if you don’t like spicy foods I would either suggest using the mild Ro-tel, or using regular diced tomatoes.  My son and I love it!

Here is my newly christened Home Wrecker Special

Ingredients:
2 cups shredded, cooked chicken
1 cup shredded cheese (or more if you’d prefer- I always use more)
1 can cream of chicken soup
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup sour cream
1 can Ro-tel tomatoes
1/2 packet taco seasonings (I always use the full package)
bag of regular nacho cheese Doritos.

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Combine all ingredients except Doritos together and mix thoroughly
3. In a greased 2 qt. baking dish put a layer of crushed Doritos (about 2 cups), then a layer of the chicken mixture. Repeat once more, ending with the chicken mixture.
4. Top with more shredded cheese and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until bubbling hot.

2 thoughts on “Home Wrecker Special- A Recipe

  1. I make this but with mild rotel tomatoes and corn or flour tortillas instead of chips. It classes it up a bit, lol.
    I shared the chicken taco crock pot recipe with you a while ago. I always make a lot of meat and then freeze (or use soon after) a portion of it for this recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve seen recipes with the tortillas, too. I do usually use the mild Ro-Tel because my daughter is not into spicy foods. She gets them to take the sauce off of the chicken quesadillas at Taco Bell!

      Like

Leave a Reply

