That Time He Whined About Not Being Appreciated Even After We Agreed to Move Across the Country For Him

February 2014

I’m proud of myself. I could have hit below the belt. I could have just choked back my emotions but I didn’t. He was complaining yesterday that he felt like all he was was a bank. Complained the kids didn’t say hi after he had returned. Complained I wasn’t more appreciative of his bonus check. I could have easily replied, “I’m sure Harley would have been more appreciative. I’m sure she would have said and done the exact right thing, unlike me. Maybe you should call her so she can stroke your ego. Hell, maybe you should give me her number so she can advise me on how best to appreciate you since she obviously knows you so much better and would be a much better wife.” But I didn’t. I figured that would be hitting below the belt and it wouldn’t be fair to throw that in his face every time we fought. Very mature of me, right? And I followed up my non response with a very thoughtful response letting him know that despite all of us being perfectly happy here we were moving across the country for HIM because HE is miserable here. And he actually thanked me for pointing that out, said he hasn’t thought of it that way. So score for me!

2 thoughts on “That Time He Whined About Not Being Appreciated Even After We Agreed to Move Across the Country For Him

Leave a Reply

