A New Adventure Begins

The title sounds catchy, doesn’t it?  Like I’m all rose colored glasses and silver linings and things are all going to work themselves out, huh? I’m doing my best.

It’s 11:30 pm as I write this. We’ve been in our new home for about 3 1/2 hours. The kids’ beds are put together and I just checked on both of them to say goodnight. They seem to be okay. I’m enjoying an Angry Orchard hard cider. It’s the first alcoholic drink I’ve had in weeks; I figure after the last 2 weeks I deserve it.  Hell, after the last 2 years I’ve had I deserve it! Soon I’ll be hopping in the shower to wash away today’s grime and then going to bed. We won’t be getting up quite as early as we have been but everyone will be showing up here around 9 in the morning to finish unloading. I’ll have my brother, sister-in-law, 2 nephews, 2 nieces, and a boyfriend of one of the nieces, plus my kids, my mom and myself.

How did today go, you may be asking? It went as well as can be expected. I almost broke down in tears as I drove out of our neighborhood for the last time. The contrast between where I left and where I came to is immense. I lived on a quiet little street in a huge subdivision. Sometimes you could hear the cows mooing or children playing. Now we are on an extremely busy street with cars whizzing by on a regular basis. My old residence was set amidst green rolling hills. Our new residence is flat and not very interesting.  Perhaps that’s due to growing up here. It’s nothing new.

The check engine light went on in the UHaul before we even left town. My brother was driving though so it was his headache and honestly, he didn’t seem too concerned.

We got caught in rainstorms repeatedly.  Like, slow down to 50, barely can see 6 inches in front of your face (maybe going 50 was a bad idea), put on your hazards, rainstorms.

Ultimately though we made it. I’m hoping that in another 6 months I can look back on my life and finally say I have a new beginning. I hope things work out well here.  I hope that my kids fit in at school and make new friends and really love it here. I hope I find a job soon, preferably one that pays decently. Hell, I hope CF finally gets his shit together and starts paying support again. I hope I gain a fabulous new life.

3 thoughts on “A New Adventure Begins

Leave a Reply

