The Final Days

It’s been a week now since we’ve been here. Technically I suppose one week and one day. I was so busy in my final days at our old home that I didn’t have a whole lot of time to reminisce. I’m one of those people that usually is all, “This is my last Monday. This is my last Tuesday,” and so on. I usually dwell on every moment and savor every bit of my last days. My last move the kids and I made a bucket list of all the things we wanted to do one last time before we left, and I was sent off with a ridiculous amount of going away gifts. This time not so much.

There were a few sweet moments, though. One of my daughter’s friends bought me Chunky Monkey ice cream on our last night there.  I was so touched. She told me not to be so nice and appreciative or she would cry. Wasn’t that the sweetest thing? One of the things I worried about when we made the initial move was the fact that I had watched Rock Star’s friends grow up where we were. I wondered if I would have any kind of a relationship with her new friends since I wouldn’t meet them until they were 14. Turns out on our last day there her friend and I were singing along to Elton John and talking about the time we both saw him in concert (at different times, of course).

One of Picasso’s friends came over on our final day. He made it a point to tell me that things were really going to suck around the neighborhood without us there and he thanked me for all the hospitality I had shown him. He has family that lives about 20 miles from us so I told him to make sure he let Picasso know if they were ever up this way and I would make sure I got him up  there so they could get together.

Another neighbor told me they would really miss us and his son was definitely going to miss Picasso. He told me that his son commented, “I’ve moved away before but I’ve never had anyone move away from me.” Yet another moment that made me want to cry.

My mom was down with me for the last week or so and a few days before we left we had a mini reunion with some of my Mamaw’s family. There were probably 11 of us that met for lunch and then went over to someone’s house for cake and tea. It was really nice and great to be around family; I just wish I had had more of that while I was living there.

After we moved my daughter’s boyfriend posted something on Instagram about his heart moving 600 miles away on the day of our move along with a slideshow of pictures of the two of them.  Another moment that made me want to cry.

Hey, looking on the bright side I tell myself that if the kids made such good friends in two years there is hope for them here.

11 thoughts on “The Final Days

    1. That’s what I keep hearing. 😉 It probably wouldn’t be such a big deal if we had moved every 2-3 years while they were growing up. CF was adamant he didn’t want his kids to have to go through what he went through, changing schools every year. That was supposedly the whole reason he was pushing to get the transfer when he did. He didn’t want Rock Star to have to switch high schools. I guess he doesn’t care about that now.

      Anyway I’m crossing my fingers they both do well. We’ve taken away almost everything Rock Star loved about high school and we don’t think she’ll get into the preferred school. She’s already not very happy with the current school she may have to attend. And Picasso has dropped band in favor of orchestra, which isn’t completely surprising because he loved the cello. I’m just sad he’s missing out on marching band now.

      Whew! I sure do vomit up my life story, don’t I?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And it’s good that you do. It’s nice to know someone is listening to what we have to say.

        We’re going to the zoo later this evening with the kids. Something that had been planned in the beginning of the year, so we’re still doing it together. I wonder if my wife had the choice of another adult other than me, would she still want me to go…

        Wutcha doing tonight?

        Like

      2. I just got done having a drink and now I’m off to a pool party with my mom. It’s not nearly as exciting as it sounds. I didn’t even bring my suit.

        Have a good time at the zoo. Say hi to the lemurs, tigers, polar bears, and monkeys for me.

        Like

  1. My husband’s job moved us every two years. My children were, and are, very sophisticated in dealing with new things. All of them travel extensively. They travel here in the US and globally. Sometimes with others and sometimes by themselves. Your children need your stability to give them a platform to fly from. They will use your good parenting to go places.

    Like

    1. I sure hope so. I’m not quite convinced they’re going to get a lot of wonderful things out of being moved twice in two years just as they’re getting to the end of school but stranger things have happened. In the end I’m sure they’ll be fine but it is certainly not what I wanted or planned for them.

      Like

  2. I loved moving, making new friends and garnering new experiences when growing up. Now, I don’t think I could move as I did before, I’m not that “friendly” as before. But most kids are more acceptable to change than grownups.

    Like

    1. I think as kids you have a more accessible group of people to befriend. It gets more difficult as adults, especially when you factor in adult responsibilities. I rolled with the punches up until this last move.

      I know they’ll both be okay. I still think it sucks to have to change schools your junior year and start all over for 2 measly years.

      Like

  3. I’m so sorry. I’m not going to tell you kids are resilient, it’s one of the things I hate that people say to me but I will say hat they’ll be ok because of you. You’re the most important constant in their lives. Losing town, homes and friends sucks but knowing they have you will help them make it through. They do know, things my children know too, which is life isn’t fair. They’ll be at an advantage because we make things too fair everywhere else these days. I’m here to listen and chat if you need to. You’re lucky to still have your mom. I miss mine so very much but her wisdom lives in me. ❤️

    Like

    1. Thanks, IOM. I do know I’m lucky to still have my mom around. She has been fantastic. And of course my kids will endure. I just hate it for them. Then again school starts in a little over a week; maybe once they’ve made friends and started to settle in they’ll both tell me they love it here.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope they do love it there, for all of you. I know it would make you feel a lot better. I’ll pray for all of you to find much happiness with this move (& if you’re not religious I’m doing it anyway 😉).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

