Finally!

After 15 months Rock Star finally has her license! As I mentioned before, getting her there on the same day I could be there took some serious planning. I don’t get my schedule for the following week until Wednesday, sometimes Thursday, so I have no idea where I will be each day until that schedule comes out. I have an hour for lunch but when the test takes 30 minutes that doesn’t leave a lot of wiggle room and I really need to be someplace where I can get to and from the BMV in 5-10 minutes, and that’s pushing it! We do have a branch that is very close to the BMV and I was scheduled to be there one day after she was eligible to take her driving test, but there were no slots available on that day. We were also working with a very short time frame- she could take it at 11:30 or 12:00, pretty much. AND I needed someone to go pick her up from school to take her to the BMV because even an hour wouldn’t allow me enough time to go pick her up, take her to the BMV, take the test, sign the papers, take her back to school and get back to work. The following week I’m at the branch that will allow me the most time to spend on this task so we schedule the test only to find out my sister-in-law is working that day and my brother, who has just recently gone back to work, is working days instead of nights. Ultimately, I said, “Fuck it! Take an Uber and I’ll meet you there.”

Yes, I once again put my 16 year old child in an Uber, hoping that I didn’t pick one that would rape her or shoot people between drop offs.

Spoiler alert! She made it! And she passed! So we have another driver in the family. FINALLY!

I ended up letting her take the car back to school instead of paying for another Uber and just had my brother pick me up and take me back to his house so Rock Star could grab me and take me home.

The following day she asked to take the car to school and drop me off, which I let her do. Unfortunately, it bit me in the ass because I was relocated to a different branch that day and had to have my sister-in-law come pick me up and take me there! Then I had my brother come take me home. So, that won’t happen again.

It is kind of weird having her drive on her own now. Just the other day she had track practice and I was thinking I needed to take her. Nope. She took off on her own. Then I was going to lay down and take a nap and thought, “I have to get up around 12 so I can leave to pick her up by 12:30.” Then I realized she had the car and didn’t need me to come get her. I ended up sleeping a good five hours! She came home and went to work all without me being woken up!

My mom is back as well, so she usually takes Rock Star to school in the morning which gives me about 30 more minutes to get ready and eat breakfast in the morning. She also does laundry and makes dinner most nights so that’s very nice as well.

Plus, Picasso had a few friends over last week and she was willing to go out and buy some snacks for them, something I simply did not have any time to do.

It’s nice having a wife. 😉

One thought on “Finally!

Leave a Reply

