A Pinterest Review

I’ve long considered doing a daily review of Pinterest recipes. I’m not going to, but I’ve thought about it. However, I recently made the homemade burrito bowls and I figured, “Why not? I’ll review this recipe.”

I wasn’t impressed. Neither was Rock Star. Picasso said he liked it but we’ll see if he touches any of the leftover.

It wasn’t terrible. It was just very bland. Now, I will be the first to admit that maybe I didn’t use enough salt or other seasoning, or maybe I used too much chicken stock. The recipe called for one cup and said to make sure the chicken breasts were covered. I ended up using closer to 3 cups to ensure the breasts were covered. I don’t know if that made a difference or not.

I also cooked the rice separately and used white rice instead of the suggested brown rice. I don’t like brown rice. She did say that you could cook the rice separately if you wouldn’t be home to put the rice in halfway so I’m not sure how much cooking the rice separately caused a difference.

That was another problem I had with this recipe. When I want to cook something in the crockpot I want to fix and forget it. While she did give directions for cooking it all together the original recipe is done in two different parts, with the chicken, tomatoes, and spices cooking together for the first 4 hours and then the rice, black beans and corn added and cooking for the next 4.

I do have a lot of leftovers so maybe I’ll try to spice it up a bit. It truly is a very bland dish and I’m not one who loves spicy and/or hot. For now, though, this is not a recipe I would recommend. Make the shrimp and mushroom fettucine instead!

Update: Picasso never touched the leftovers.

4 thoughts on “A Pinterest Review

  1. Crock pot recipes. Cheapest roast you can find. Or a pork roast but I usually use beef. A fourth to a half a couple water and one package of dry Italian salad dressing and one package dry ranch dressing cook eight hours on low. Turn it on high while you are getting ready and then as you leave turn it to low. You can test it earlier than that but if you can’t pull the meat apart with a fork it is still not done.

    Like

    1. I use that one often, only my recipe calls for a package of brown gravy as well. Delicious!

      I also like the one that calls for a packet of ranch dressing, au jus, and a stick of butter, along with 5 – 6 pepperoncini.

      Like

  2. Quick delicious recipe: sauté chicken breasts on med-high quickly (to sear) in mix of olive oil and butter. When golden on both sides, salt and pepper lower temp to medium low add one clove garlic for each breast, minced, and cherry tomatoes. Stir quickly and add heavy cream (about 1 1/2 cups). Cover and cook for 20 min. Add fresh basil and serve over white rice, sauce over rice. o m g.
    30 min and food is done from start to finish.
    Another one:
    In baking pan add chicken thighs (boneless and skinless). Salt and pepper to taste. Dice russet potatoes. Salt, pepper them and pour olive oil over them generously. Dot chicken and potatoes with butter and bake at 400 until done and everything is nicely browned. Also serve over rice. Whole thing takes about 45 min. Sometimes I even throw in the chicken frozen and yes it takes longer but only for about an extra 20 min. I like to add some cayenne to potatoes for an extra spicy kick

    Like

  3. My go to easy one is sausage bake: a few packs of your fave sausages cut up (I like aidell pineapple bacon) cut up peppers onions and a few cubed potatoes. Toss with a bit of olive oil, rosemary, mustard, salt, pepper and bake on a sheet pan, single layer at about 375 until everything looks browned and yummy, toss it around a bit too.. And whatever leftovers there are make a great frittata in the morning. Always a hit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

