My New Favorite Meatloaf

I love meatloaf.  Rock Star is not much of a fan so I don’t make it often.  Nonetheless, I was cruising Pinterest a few weeks ago and came across a slow cooker meatloaf recipe.  It had the powdered Ranch dressing in it so I was intrigued.  I made it for me and Picasso and we both loved it.  I give it 5 stars.  I will caution you that while you can make this in the oven it will take a very long time.  Ask me how I know.  I forgot to put it in the crockpot in time so I baked it and it took over 2 hours, I believe.  I hope you love it as much as we did.

Slow Cooker Meatloaf

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • ¾ c milk
  • 3 slices of bread torn into small pieces
  • 1 t salt
  • ½ t pepper
  • 1 c ketchup, divided
  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • ½ c onion, diced
  • 1 oz pkg ranch salad dressing mix
Instructions:
  1. Combine your eggs, milk, bread crumbs, salt and pepper in a large bowl.
  2. Add ½ c of ketchup and the rest of the ingredients and combine gently.
  3. Make a mound in your greased slow cooker and top with remaining ketchup.
  4. Place the cover on your slow cooker and cook on low for 6-8 hours (until meat  reads 160).
Chef’s Notes:  I also added about a cup of shredded cheddar.  Since I’ve only made this once I can’t tell you if it’s better or worse with cheese.

Leave a comment