Getting To Know You

So the entry that listed 100 things I love made me think about some things that you might find interesting about me.  I don’t know how long this list is going to be; I don’t have a set number of interesting facts.  We’ll just see where this takes us.

  1. I am terrified of snakes.  Like, if I had to wrestle a mountain lion or a bear for my kids I would do it in a heartbeat.  If it’s a snake?  They are on their own!  I have told them this in no uncertain language.  “If there is a snake you two need to run because I am going to be outta there!”  My kids have even discussed this.  My daughter was telling her brother not to worry if they saw a snake because I would protect them.  He looks at her like she’s crazy and tells her, “Nu-uh.  Mom said if there was a snake we were on our own!”  I’m nodding my head and saying, “Listen to your brother!  Seriously, you two are on your own!”
  2. I was a Girl Scout leader before I ever had kids.  I volunteered for three years until I moved.  Ironically, Rock Star never joined the Girl Scouts, although both of my nieces did.
  3. I have an aversion to Band-aids.  It disturbs me to no end when people lose them in water.  It is one of the most disgusting things ever. I about lost it when Picasso lost one in our brand new swimming pool last year.  I have actually yelled at my kids before when they would leave them laying out. Throw them away and ideally bury them under something so I don’t even have to see them! I can wear them but they give me the heebie jeebies every time I see them on someone else.
  4. I have four tattoos.  Yep, I am a former Girl Scout leader and PTA President with tattoos.  I started off with one, which is fairly small.  I wasn’t sure how much it would hurt so I didn’t want anything real complicated in case I wussed out. I got the next three at the same time.  I wanted one that would incorporate my kids and me but ended up getting three separate ones.  As much as I like them I have them all placed where you can’t see them when I’m wearing clothes.
  5. Speaking of tattoos, I giggle when getting them.  I am extremely ticklish and so I end up laughing almost the entire time.
  6. I have laughed so hard I have puked before. In fact, I puked on CF once.
  7. I have written numerous books although I have never been published.  Most of them were horror stories, which is kinda funny considering I hate watching horror movies.
  8. I’ve lived in 6 different states.
  9. I dropped out of college my last semester and went back the following fall to finish my degree.
  10. I always wanted four kids but I have a balanced translocation which is basically where two of your chromosomes break apart and then join together. It results in a 50% chance of miscarriage every time I get pregnant.  Between CF’s reluctance to have more and the enormous amount of stress I felt every time I was pregnant I stopped at 2.
  11. I was a nude model in college my last semester.
  12. I am the oldest of three kids.  I’m also my mother’s favorite but she will tell you she loves all of her kids equally.  She doesn’t.  I’m the favorite.  Don’t get me wrong; she likes at least one of my brothers. But I’m the favorite.
  13. I hate smoking. I’ll still be your friend but I really really hate that habit. And I hate cigarette butts- in ashtrays, on beaches, in water, on the ground.  There are few things I find grosser than seeing those outside ashtrays filled with cigarette butts and water.
  14. My favorite part of Thanksgiving would be all the sides and the pumpkin pie.  I’m not a big fan of turkey and could forego the main course entirely.
  15. As I’ve gotten older my fear of heights has increased dramatically.  We stayed in a hotel in Vegas with a view of the city and rides on the top of the building.  I thought I was going to throw up.  I had to sit on the couches away from the huge windows.
  16. Similarly, I HATE those sky coasters at parks- the ones that slowly coast over the park.  I have been on them three times and that’s it for me.  I need to be medicated in order to do that!
  17. I am not a fan of New Year’s Eve.  I think it puts way too much pressure on people to have a great time and ring in the New Year.  I’ve always said it’s about people pretending to have a good time while in reality they are miserable and wishing they were home.  I almost never have plans for NYE and can easily sleep through it or simply watch TV.  I will say though that this past year I was at my mom’s.  My niece and one of her friends spent the night.  We watched the Rockin’ New Year’s Eve special and I actually liked the musical guests.  We cracked open a bottle of champagne at midnight and I texted all my friends in the Mountain Time Zone telling them I was from the future and that it was looking pretty bright.
  18. I have lived in three out of the four time zones in the United Staes (mainland, of course).
  19. I always have an exit strategy for all the rides at the amusement park.  I don’t generally have a problem with the roller coasters or the Samurai (I figure I’ll just be dead and it will be over quickly), but all the other rides I figure out a escape plan.  I do realize that the centrifugal force will probably not allow for my plans but it comforts me to think I can take action.  That’s probably why I don’t like those stupid sky coasters; there is no way to escape that sucker and it moves soooooo slowly you know death won’t be instantaneous.
  20. I can take or leave Valentine’s Day, too.  I don’t hate it but I didn’t have a problem with having no one to celebrate it with this past year either.  It’s just a day. Maybe if I had been married to someone who put in the time and effort to celebrate it I might feel differently.
  21. I keep thinking I would like to learn to crochet and knit.
  22. I also think about learning to play hockey.
  23. One of the things on my bucket list is to run a marathon.  I should probably start working on that.
  24. I think the Grand Canyon is overrated.  I suppose if you don’t mind heights then it would be a great place to visit.  I do mind heights and therefore didn’t enjoy a whole lot of my visit because I was terrified!  That sucker is not fenced in for the most part.
  25. I’ve been to Yellowstone National Park and I really enjoyed it. I loved the geysers and the hot springs.
  26. I’ve always been fascinated by serial killers and gave a speech my sophomore year about the difference between mass murderers and serial killers.
  27. I’ve been to both Disneyland and Disney World.
  28. I’ve also been to Sea World Orlando and Sea World San Diego.
  29. I’m pretty sure my favorite theme park is Universal Studios, although I’ve only been to the one out in California.
  30. I have no desire to get married again.
  31. I’ve dipped my toes into the Pacific, the Atlantic, and the Gulf of Mexico.
  32. I have a goal of visiting all 50 states one of these days. I’m at right around 75%. Most of the states I haven’t visited and driven through are the New England states. If I could vacation for a week or two along the New England coast I think I could almost cross this one off my bucket list!
  33. I love chocolate, especially Godiva chocolate. I prefer dark chocolate.  I think my favorite, though, is chocolate cake with vanilla or cream cheese icing.  I’m not a fan of chocolate on chocolate for some reason.
  34. I love sushi and my favorite one right now is the Angel Roll with shrimp tempura and mango inside and spicy crab and a honey mayo on top.  It is the most delicious thing ever!
  35. I like visiting food trucks.
  36. Until we moved this last time I volunteered a lot.  According to that lovely poem there is a very special place for me in Heaven.
  37. I don’t have favorites, like a favorite color, favorite song, favorite food… I like lots of different things.  I have an assortment of favorites.
  38. The word “gulch” makes me giggle when I say it. I’m giggling right now.
  39. I’m terrified of death.  I can’t think about what happens after you die because it totally freaks me out. Ever since my Mamaw died I have had to sleep with the TV on because I can’t let my mind wander at night; by tuning into the TV until I fall asleep I don’t have to think about anything.  I also don’t want to be buried or cremated.  I told my kids I needed to do that body tour because I always wanted to travel and it wouldn’t require burying or burning me. Now I’m thinking that maybe I’ll donate my body to the Body Farm in Knoxville, TN.
  40. CF named both of our kids (I did have veto power and honestly, I didn’t really care).  In a small twist of delicious irony, his middle name, which was given to our son as his middle name, is also the name of someone I loved deeply who died in high school.  So now, instead of thinking of Picasso’s middle name being the same as his dad’s I think of him sharing a name with my beloved. Yeah, I’m evil.  So what?
  41. I never intended to have 3 dogs.  Rock Star was begging for a friend’s dog that they were going to get rid of.  I told her if her dad said okay then we could take it.  Long story short:  He said okay, they ended up keeping the dog and she got pregnant; we then took the only male puppy.  He was supposed to say no!  Hey- that seems to be a recurrent theme for him. Couldn’t say no to the dog, couldn’t say no to the whore!
  42. My favorite flavor of ice cream is mint chocolate chip. Oh, look at that!  I do have a favorite!
  43. At one point we had over 40 guinea pigs.  It’s a long story.
  44. I eat very slowly and when I do try to eat fast I get a stomachache.
  45. My first job was working in the deli department making pizzas.  I think I was the most popular employee there because I would bake the pizzas to hand out samples to customers and all the guys that worked in different departments would come by to grab little sample pieces.
  46. I hate long lines, traffic, and waiting. I am a type B personality through and through until you put me behind the wheel of a car or make me wait.  Then I am a type A all the way.
  47. My brother and I were once racing home in our cars.  Yes, I know, that was dangerous; we were young and stupid.  When it became apparent he was going to win and get to the driveway first I cut through the yard and pulled in ahead of him.  I won!
  48. I’ve been skydiving.  CF wouldn’t go with me to cheer me on or support me, of course.  I still went.
  49. My first concert was Damn Yankees/Bad Company.  My second was Skid Row/Guns-n-Roses.  I loved them back in my teens and early 20s.  The last two concerts I saw were The Wiggles (twice!) and Hannah Montana.  Bit of a change there.
  50. I hate sweet potatoes.  I’m not fond of onions but I’m better at eating those.  I still don’t like raw ones but I can eat them if they are sautéed or finely diced (and cooked- no “dice” on raw ones).
  51. I’m a happy, loving drunk when I drink too much.
  52. I never got hangovers until around age 23.  As I’ve gotten older they’ve gotten worse. It hasn’t taken much of a learning curve for me.  I rarely overindulge anymore.
  53. My go to drink when I’m out (which is never anymore) is a vodka cranberry.
  54. I liked the movie Twilight a lot more than an adult should have.  Rock Star wanted to see it so I took her and I ended up really liking it.  I also liked Eclipse and the second part of Breaking Dawn.
  55. I always loved taking my kids to the movies and enjoyed pretty much all the movies we saw.  Fern Gully, out long before I ever had children, remains a favorite of mine.
  56. It took us four years to have Rock Star. When she was a baby I worked from home and would play the Disney Sing-Alongs for her to keep her occupied.  Whenever “The Circle of Life” from the Lion King would come on I would lift her above my head.  She was my Simba and I was showing her off for the world.
  57. I have been known to cry at commercials, especially the one where Peter comes home for Christmas and is making coffee for the family.
  58. I can’t stand snakes but I think lizards are cute, especially those little bearded dragons.
  59. I cannot bear to watch those ASPCA ads on television.  They break my heart.  I just want to take all of those poor, abused, and abandoned animals in and love them.
  60. I have to have something in front of me to drink whenever I’m eating.  It’s almost an obsession.  The irony is that I actually drink very little while I’m eating.  I tend to take small sips and drink most of my beverage at the end of the meal.  Weird, I know.
  61. Along those lines I typically cannot drink alcohol with a meal.  Some people love beer and pizza, or wine and pasta.  I can’t do that. It simply does not quench my thirst.  Alcohol, apparently for me, is a whole other food group!  The only time I can eat and drink alcohol at the same time is when I’m having a frozen margarita with Mexican food.
  62. I have been to every state west of the Mississippi except for Minnesota, North Dakota, Louisiana and Oregon. Some of them I may have only driven through but I’ve been there.
  63. Instead of keeping a baby book for my kids I instead had a cute baby calendar and marked all their firsts and milestones on it.  At the end of the first year I then turned around and created a large book for them, filled with pictures, stories, people who loved them, their birth story, and that year of firsts. Rock Star’s is laminated and in a 3-ring binder.  Poor Picasso has his story written out but no pictures and no actual book.  It’s still on the computer.
  64. Speaking of cousins… while I have a lot of cousins I only have 3 first cousins.  Both my mom and dad were one of two children.  My dad’s sister never had any children and my mom’s brother had two plus a stepchild. I think my dad has 5 first cousins. His mom was an only child and his dad was one of three.  The plethora of cousins actually comes from my mother’s side. Her mom was the oldest of 9 and her dad was one of six. That’s where they all come from and I don’t sleep with any of them.
  65. I have a really bad habit of chewing my straws after I’m finished with my drink (which could take hours since I drink so slowly).
  66. I have lived in college towns most of my life.
  67. I can drive a stick shift.
  68. This probably should have gone on my List of 100 Things I Love but I’ll put it here.  I love playing Phase 10.
  69. I also really love playing double deck bid euchre.  I haven’t played in years because so few people know how to play regular euchre, much less bid euchre, but I love it.
  70. I will play Bunko with you in a heartbeat.
  71. I don’t have to take charge but I will if no one else will step up.
  72. I was a Teacher Appreciation goddess.  When I saw my two teacher friends earlier this summer they both commented on it and how much they missed me.  “No one does it like you, Sam!”  That made me feel great.
  73. Aside from running Teacher Appreciation I actually like working on the administrative side of PTA better than working in the schools and carrying out activities. Make a note of that, people.  There will be a quiz.

And now you know a little bit more about me aside from my sad tale of woe with a cheating husband. Hopefully you are thinking, “Wow, that Sam sure sounds like a fascinating person!”

11 thoughts on “Getting To Know You

    1. I see you *are* preparing for the quiz.

      No, no pictures, not that kind of model. It was for an art class and I doubt anyone still has their drawings some 25 years later. Ironically, the class was predominantly female. There were maybe 3 males in the class, possibly only two.

      Funny story: About a year after graduation I ran into one of the students. She happened to come into the place I was working. I said hi and it took her a moment. She said, “Oh hi! I didn’t recognize you with your clothes on at first.” The guy she was with did a double take. Naturally he was curious about this. So then she had to explain, “Sam was one of the models in my art class.”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

